Compared

Recharge vs Skio for DTC subscription brands

Both are subscription apps built for Shopify stores. Recharge is the larger platform with a $149 entry plan; Skio starts at $499 a month and sells on its portal, cancel flows and migration. Both charge a percentage plus a fixed fee on subscription orders, and both sell the subscription where the store sells. If your subscribers come from ads into funnels, there is a third option, covered below.

Last checked: November 2026 · Figures from each vendor’s own pricing page, linked below

At a glanceVendor figures from each pricing page, checked November 2026
Recharge, Skio and Funnelish at a glance: entry price, fees on subscription orders, where the subscription is sold, customer portal, Shopify dependence and free trial
RechargeSkioFunnelish
Entry price$149 a month, Starter$499 a month billed annually, or $599 month to month$49 a month, Basic
Fee on subscription orders1.50% + 20¢ per transaction on Starter, 1.25% + 20¢ on Scale1.25% + 20¢ on orders involving a subscription0% held by your gateway, or up to 0.5% managed by Funnelish (gateway-agnostic)
Where the subscription is soldYour Shopify store, with a subscription product page widgetYour Shopify storeYour funnel: the page, an order bump or a one-click upsell, on your own checkout
Customer portalNo-code customer portalNo-code customer portal100% customizable, built in the page builder, with one-click offers inside. Advanced plan
Shopify"Made for Shopify""Built the way Shopify intended"With or without Shopify. Renewals sync to Shopify as orders
Free trial60 days on StarterNot stated on the pricing page14 days, no credit card

Short answer

Skio vs Recharge: the short answer

Pick Recharge if you want the widest footprint and the lower entry price. Starter is $149 a month with a 1.50% + 20¢ fee per transaction, and Recharge says it powers 71% of subscriptions sold on Shopify stores. Scale, at $499 a month, lowers the fee to 1.25% + 20¢ and adds bundles, migration support and subscriber journey A/B testing (Recharge, November 2026).

Pick Skio if you are already at that level of spend and want a newer product with everything in one plan: $499 a month billed annually or $599 month to month, plus 1.25% + 20¢ on orders involving a subscription. Its portal, cancel flow builder and migration are the reasons brands name. Enterprise is quoted, not published (Skio, November 2026).

Pick neither if your subscriptions are sold inside funnels rather than on a store. Both are built for Shopify stores, and neither pricing page describes selling a subscription anywhere else, so a subscription cannot be an order bump or a one-click upsell on a checkout you own. Funnelish sells and bills subscriptions in the funnel, on your own gateways, with or without Shopify, from $49 a month. Subscriptions are on every plan; smart payment routing and customer portals are on Advanced.

Recharge

What Recharge is and does well

The default subscription app for a Shopify store, with the largest footprint and three published tiers.

Recharge calls itself "the world's leading subscription platform" and says it powers 71% of subscriptions sold on Shopify stores, with 20,000 brands served (Recharge, November 2026). It is the choice most Shopify stores make when they add subscriptions, and its pricing reflects a platform selling to every size of store: a Starter plan, a Scale plan marked most popular, and a Custom plan with volume-based rates.

What it does well, from its own pricing page: a subscription product page widget and a no-code customer portal on every plan; failed payment recovery with AI-powered retries, which Recharge says recovers up to 88% of failed payments; cancellation prevention, win-back solutions and automated workflows; and analytics with industry benchmarks. Scale adds hands-on implementation, end-to-end migration support, customizable bundles, tiered discounts, surprise-and-delight gifting, subscriber journey A/B testing, a Remi AI agent, Concierge SMS billed per message segment, and a JavaScript SDK with a Storefront API. Starter comes with a 60-day free trial (Recharge pricing, November 2026).

What Recharge does well

  • Largest footprint on Shopify
  • Starter plan at $149
  • 60-day free trial on Starter
  • Failed payment recovery
  • Bundles, gifting and SDK on Scale
  • Three tiers up to Custom

Skio

What Skio is and does well

The newer Shopify subscription app, sold as one plan with everything in it and a migration team that moves brands off Recharge.

Skio says 1,000+ subscription brands run on it and describes itself as "built the way Shopify intended" (Skio, November 2026). It prices one published plan, Scale, "for growing your subscription brand on Shopify", and puts its whole feature list in it, so there is no gating between tiers below Enterprise.

Its strengths, as its own pages describe them: a no-code customer portal it says is simple enough that a grandmother can manage her subscription without the brand's support team; self-service changes by text or email; a Journey builder for lifecycle automation and a multi-step cancel flow builder, with retention offers triggered by cancel reason, order milestone or segment; payment recovery campaigns with timing optimization; advanced build-a-box and volume discounting; Markets support with AI translations; an analytics suite with segmentation; and a migration sequence of setup, validation and migration in which Skio audits every subscriber before launch. Support is described as "award-winning (ex-Shopify, ex-Recharge)", with hands-on onboarding and training (Skio pricing, November 2026).

What Skio does well

  • Everything in one plan
  • No-code customer portal
  • Cancel flow builder and Journeys
  • Payment recovery campaigns
  • Comprehensive migration
  • Hands-on onboarding

Compared

Recharge vs Skio side by side

Pricing, portal, dunning and retention, migration, support and Shopify dependence, cell by cell, from each vendor's own pages. Where a page is silent, the cell says so.

Recharge compared with Skio: plans, fees, terms, portal, dunning and retention, migration, support and Shopify dependence
AreaRechargeSkio
Published plansStarter $149 a month. Scale $499 a month (marked most popular). Custom: volume-based rates, no price shown. Recharge pricing, November 2026Scale $499 a month billed annually, or $599 month to month. Enterprise: custom, "available for high-volume or unique business models". Skio pricing, November 2026
Fee on subscription orders1.50% + 20¢ per transaction on Starter, 1.25% + 20¢ on Scale, "with scalable transaction rates to support your growth". Fees "apply to all transactions processed by Recharge per month". Recharge pricing, November 20261.25% + 20¢ transaction fee on "orders involving a subscription". Enterprise lists volume pricing. Skio pricing, November 2026
Terms and trial60-day free trial on Starter, starting the day the app is installed. "Our Plus and Custom plans run on 12-month terms." Shopify Plus merchants "may be eligible for discounted pricing through our Custom plan". Recharge pricing, November 2026Annual or monthly billing. The FAQ lists "Is there a free trial?", but no answer is shown on the page, so treat the trial as not published. Skio pricing, November 2026
Portal and customer experienceNo-code customer portal on every plan, with upsell and cross-sell tools. Scale adds customizable bundles, tiered discounts and surprise-and-delight gifting. Recharge pricing, November 2026"Beautiful, no-code customer portal", self-service changes by text or email, advanced build-a-box, a smart upsell carousel and quick actions, all in Scale. Skio pricing, November 2026
Dunning and retentionFailed payment recovery on every plan: "Recover up to 88% of failed payments with AI-powered retries". Cancellation prevention, win-back solutions and automated workflows on Starter; subscriber journey A/B testing on Scale. Recharge pricing, November 2026"Payment Recovery Campaigns with Timing Optimization", a multi-step cancel flow builder and Journeys (lifecycle automation). Skio's home page describes retention offers triggered by cancel reason, order milestone or segment. Skio, November 2026
Migration"End-to-end migration support" and "hands-on implementation" on Scale. Starter does not list migration support. Recharge pricing, November 2026"Comprehensive Migration" in Scale, with hands-on onboarding and training. Skio's home page describes a setup, validation and migration sequence in which every subscriber is audited before launch. Skio, November 2026
Support24/7 support and response times of 8 hours, 6 hours and "live video support within 4 hours" appear in the plan table, but the page does not label which tier gets which. Custom adds "dedicated priority technical support". Business hours are stated as Monday to Friday, 6AM to 6PM PST. Recharge pricing, November 2026"Award-Winning Support (ex-Shopify, ex-Recharge)" on Scale. Enterprise adds emergency support and a dedicated merchant success manager. Skio pricing, November 2026
Shopify dependence"Made for Shopify". The plan table lists "unified checkout on Shopify" and "native integration with Shopify discounts, tax, and shipping". No other platform is named on the pricing page. Recharge pricing, November 2026"Built the way Shopify intended". Scale is priced "for growing your subscription brand on Shopify". No other platform is named. Skio pricing, November 2026

Neither pricing page says what happens to subscriptions and saved cards if your payment processor suspends you. What to ask before you sign

Pricing

Recharge pricing and Skio pricing, plan by plan

Every published plan, its monthly price and its per-transaction fee, copied from each pricing page in November 2026. A plan with no public price says so.

Recharge pricing

Usage fees "apply to all transactions processed by Recharge per month". Prices in USD plus applicable taxes. Starter has a 60-day free trial; "Plus and Custom plans run on 12-month terms". Source: Recharge, November 2026.

  • Starter

    $149a month

    1.50% + 20¢ per transaction

    • Subscription product page widget
    • No-code customer portal
    • Upsell and cross-sell tools
    • Cancellation prevention and win-back
    • Failed payment recovery with AI-powered retries
    • Automated workflows, analytics with benchmarks
    • 60-day free trial
  • ScaleMost popular

    $499a month

    1.25% + 20¢ per transaction

    • Everything in Starter
    • Hands-on implementation
    • End-to-end migration support
    • Customizable bundles, tiered discounts, gifting
    • Subscriber journey A/B testing
    • Remi AI agent, Concierge SMS (per message)
    • JavaScript SDK and Storefront API
  • Custom

    Not publicvolume-based rates

    Volume-based, not shown

    • Custom implementations
    • Dedicated priority technical support
    • Solution architecture review
    • Enterprise business reviews
    • Discounted pricing possible for Shopify Plus merchants

Skio pricing

One published plan, "for growing your subscription brand on Shopify". The transaction fee applies to "orders involving a subscription". Free trial and minimums are not stated on the page. Source: Skio, November 2026.

  • Scale

    $499a month billed annually, or $599 month to month

    1.25% + 20¢ transaction fee

    • No-code customer portal
    • Payment recovery campaigns with timing optimization
    • Journeys (lifecycle automation) and multi-step cancel flow builder
    • SkioSMS, advanced volume discounting, build-a-box
    • Markets support with AI translations
    • Native integrations, webhooks and API
    • Comprehensive migration, hands-on onboarding and training
  • Enterprise

    Not publiccustom, for high-volume or unique business models

    Volume pricing, not shown

    • Everything in Scale
    • Direct input on the product roadmap
    • Early access
    • Emergency support
    • Dedicated merchant success manager
    • Custom development

What the fee adds up to

The percentage plus fixed fee is charged per transaction on top of your processor's own rates. At 1.25% + 20¢, a $50 subscription order carries an 83¢ fee; 2,000 such orders in a month carry $1,650 in fees on top of the $499 plan. At Recharge's Starter rate of 1.50% + 20¢ the same orders carry $1,900. These are the published rates applied to a round number, not an estimate of your bill; put your own order count and average order value in.

For comparison, a Funnelish subscription held by your own gateway carries no Funnelish fee, and one managed by Funnelish (gateway-agnostic) carries up to 0.5% per transaction with no fixed part: $500 on the same 2,000 orders, on any plan from $49 a month. Every Funnelish usage fee, and why it exists

For brands that buy traffic

Where Recharge and Skio both stop

A paid-traffic brand sells one offer per ad, on a page built for it, with a checkout built for it. Here is where a store subscription app runs out, and what to ask each vendor.

  1. 01

    The subscription is sold on the store, not in the funnel

    Both apps are built for Shopify stores. Recharge’s pricing page lists a subscription product page widget and "unified checkout on Shopify"; Skio prices its plan "for growing your subscription brand on Shopify". A paid click that lands on a funnel page with its own checkout, an order bump and a one-click upsell has nowhere to put a store widget. Subscribe-and-save inside the funnel, a subscription as an order bump, or a subscription as the post-purchase upsell is not what either app is built to do.

  2. 02

    Billing follows the Shopify gateway setup

    Recharge’s fees "apply to all transactions processed by Recharge", and its plan table marks one payment row "not applicable with Shopify Checkout Integration". Neither pricing page describes connecting several gateways of your own and billing renewals across them. Ask each vendor which gateways can hold your subscribers, and how a renewal moves to another gateway when the first one declines.

  3. 03

    The portal is the app’s portal

    Both list a no-code customer portal. No-code means a widget with settings, not a page you design. If the portal has to carry your brand, your layout and your own offers, ask what can be changed beyond colours and copy, and whether an offer inside the portal can be charged to the card on file in one click.

  4. 04

    The gateway-suspension question

    Neither pricing page says what happens to active subscriptions and saved payment methods if your payment processor suspends or closes your account. Before you sign, ask three things: where the cards are vaulted, whether renewals can move to a new gateway without re-collecting cards, and who does that work. On Funnelish, managed subscriptions keep the card vault and the renewal schedule in Funnelish, so a new gateway picks up the next renewal.

Quoted wording is from Recharge pricing and Skio pricing, November 2026.

The third option

A Recharge alternative built for funnels, not stores

Funnelish subscriptions are sold where buyers say yes, held by your own gateway or managed by Funnelish (gateway-agnostic), retried across gateways, and managed in a portal you design. With Shopify as the back office, or without Shopify at all.

  • Every plan

    Sold where buyers say yes

    Subscribe-and-save on the funnel page, a subscription as an order bump at checkout, or as the one-click upsell after payment. The subscription is offered in the funnel that takes the first order, with no separate app and no separate checkout.

    How subscriptions sell in the funnel
  • Every plan

    Billed your way, on your gateways

    Held by your PSP with no Funnelish fee, or managed by Funnelish (gateway-agnostic) on any MID for up to 0.5% per transaction, because we run the renewal scheduler, retries and billing logic. Stripe Billing starts at 0.7%.

    Every fee, with its reason
  • Advanced plan

    Renewals that retry on another gateway

    Smart payment routing sends each rebill to the MID most likely to approve it and retries a soft decline on another, before any dunning email. Up to 0.3% per routed transaction, for the card vault that works across your MIDs.

    Smart payment routing
  • Advanced plan

    A portal you design, that sells

    Built in the same page builder as your funnels: any layout, any section, your brand. Subscribers log in with a one-time code, skip, pause, swap and update their card, and accept one-click offers charged to the card on file.

    Customer portal software

Plans from $49 a month, 0% of your revenue on every plan, free migration on every plan. Subscriptions, both ways, on every plan. Smart payment routing (up to 0.3% per routed transaction) and customer portals on Advanced. See plans

revenue processed

purchases completed

brands

typical full landing page load

Figures as of September 2026

Decision

Recharge, Skio or Funnelish: which to choose

Each column lists the situations its option is built for, in its own published terms.

Choose Recharge if

  • You sell on a Shopify store and want the lower published entry price: Starter at $149 a month, with a 60-day free trial.
  • You want the platform with the largest footprint. Recharge says it powers 71% of subscriptions sold on Shopify stores.
  • You need bundles, tiered discounts, gifting, a JavaScript SDK and Storefront API, and are ready for Scale at $499 a month.
  • A fee of 1.50% + 20¢ (Starter) or 1.25% + 20¢ (Scale) on transactions processed by Recharge fits your margins.

Source: Recharge pricing and home page, November 2026

Choose Skio if

  • You sell on a Shopify store, are already at $499 a month of spend, and want every feature in one plan with no gating below Enterprise.
  • The portal, cancel-flow builder and Journeys are what you are buying, and you value hands-on onboarding.
  • You are leaving Recharge and want a migration where every subscriber is audited before launch.
  • A fee of 1.25% + 20¢ on orders involving a subscription fits your margins.

Source: Skio pricing and home page, November 2026

Choose Funnelish if

  • Your subscribers come from ads into funnels, and you want subscribe-and-save on the page, as an order bump or as a one-click upsell, on your own checkout. Every plan, from $49 a month.
  • You want renewals held by your own gateway with no Funnelish fee, or managed by Funnelish (gateway-agnostic) for up to 0.5% per transaction, with retries across gateways on Advanced.
  • You want a portal built in the page builder, with your brand and one-click offers inside it. Advanced plan.
  • You run with Shopify as the back office, or without Shopify at all, and want 0% of your revenue taken on every plan.

Source: funnelish.com/pricing and /subscriptions

FAQ

Recharge vs Skio, answered

Is Skio better than Recharge?

Neither is better in the abstract. Recharge has the larger footprint (it says it powers 71% of subscriptions sold on Shopify stores) and the lower entry price, with Starter at $149 a month and a 60-day free trial. Skio publishes one plan at $499 a month billed annually, with every feature in it, and sells on its portal, cancel flows and migration. Both charge 1.25% + 20¢ per transaction at the $499 tier (Recharge’s Starter is 1.50% + 20¢). If you sell subscriptions on a Shopify store, pick by budget and by which retention tools you will use. If you sell subscriptions in funnels, neither fits, and Funnelish is the third option.

The side-by-side table
How much does Recharge cost?

Recharge publishes three plans: Starter at $149 a month with a 1.50% + 20¢ fee per transaction, Scale at $499 a month with 1.25% + 20¢, and Custom with volume-based rates and no public price. Fees apply to all transactions processed by Recharge. Starter has a 60-day free trial; Plus and Custom plans run on 12-month terms. Source: Recharge pricing, November 2026.

Recharge pricing, plan by plan
How much does Skio cost?

Skio publishes one plan, Scale, at $499 a month billed annually or $599 month to month, plus a 1.25% + 20¢ transaction fee on orders involving a subscription. Enterprise is custom, for high-volume or unique business models, with volume pricing. The pricing page lists a free-trial question in its FAQ but shows no answer, so a trial is not published. Source: Skio pricing, November 2026.

Skio pricing
What is the best Shopify subscription app?

By footprint, Recharge: it says it powers 71% of subscriptions sold on Shopify stores. By feature depth on a single published plan, Skio, which puts its portal, cancel flows, Journeys, build-a-box and migration into Scale. Both are Shopify subscription apps in the strict sense: they sell subscriptions on a Shopify store. If your subscriptions are sold in funnels you send ads to, the best Shopify subscription app is not an app at all. Funnelish sells and bills subscriptions on your own checkout and syncs every renewal to Shopify as an order, on every plan.

Subscriptions on Funnelish
Can I sell subscriptions without a Shopify app?

Yes. On Funnelish a subscription is a product setting in your funnel: switch the product to a subscription, pick whether your gateway or Funnelish bills it, set the cycle and an optional trial, and sell it on the page, as an order bump or as a one-click upsell. Rebills run on any MID, plus PayPal and local methods where the PSP supports them. Keep Shopify as the store and back office and every renewal syncs to it, or run standalone with orders sent to ShipBob, ShipStation, AfterShip or Google Sheets. Subscriptions are on every plan.

Managed subscriptions guide
Can I move my subscribers from Recharge?

Yes. Migration is free on every Funnelish plan: our support team plans the move with you, including how saved cards move between gateways, while your current setup keeps selling. Talk to them before you switch so the order of steps is right for your gateways.

What the move involves
What happens to my subscriptions if my payment gateway suspends me?

On Recharge and Skio, their pricing pages do not say, so ask each vendor where cards are vaulted and whether renewals can move to a new gateway without re-collecting them. On Funnelish, gateway-agnostic subscriptions managed by Funnelish keep the card vault and the renewal schedule in Funnelish, not in your gateway account, so you connect another MID and the next rebill runs there. On a smart payment routing rule (Advanced plan) it happens on its own. Subscriptions held by the gateway stay with that gateway account.

Gateway suspended? Subscriptions carry on
Is Funnelish a Recharge alternative if I keep Shopify?

Yes. Keep Shopify as your store and back office. Your paid traffic lands on Funnelish funnels, the subscription is sold and billed on your Funnelish checkout and your own gateways, and every first order and renewal syncs to Shopify as a paid order, so your team ships as usual. Subscriptions are on every plan from $49 a month; customer portals and smart payment routing are on Advanced.

Funnelish for Shopify brands

Sources

Sources and dates

  • Recharge pricingStarter, Scale and Custom plans, transaction fees, 60-day trial, 12-month terms, support rows, Shopify checkout notes. Checked November 2026. rechargepayments.com/pricing redirects here.
  • Recharge home page"71% of subscriptions sold on Shopify stores", "20,000 brands served", "Made for Shopify". Checked November 2026.
  • Skio pricingScale at $499 a month annually or $599 monthly, 1.25% + 20¢ on orders involving a subscription, Enterprise as custom, feature list. Checked November 2026.
  • Skio home page"1,000+ subscription brands", portal, Journey builder, migration sequence. Checked November 2026.
  • Funnelish pricingPlan prices, 0% platform transaction fees, the two usage fees and their reasons, free migration, 14-day trial.
  • Funnelish subscriptionsWhere subscriptions sell, managed and gateway-held billing, dunning and routing, the gateway-suspension answer.
  • Managed subscriptions guideSetup, supported gateways and fees, in the Funnelish help center.

Vendor figures change. If a price or fee above no longer matches a vendor's page, the vendor's page wins; tell us and we will update this one.

Sell the subscription where the buyer says yes

Subscribe-and-save on the page, as a bump or as the upsell, on your own checkout and gateways. Free for 14 days, with or without Shopify.

Trusted by DTC brands since 2017

4,600+ brands have processed $3.8B+ on Funnelish

No credit card required · Free migration · Cancel anytime